Respecting RAW black and white flag

Home Forums RAW Power for macOS General Discussion Respecting RAW black and white flag

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Heather Kavanagh
    Participant

Hello everyone! I am an Aperture refugee. I’m a hobbyist photographer, mainly landscape stuff, and my Canon EOS 7D is now getting on a bit – but so am I! I really miss Aperture, though…

Anyway, I’ve resolved to do more photography after about five years off the hobby. I also need to learn to use RAW Power, so I’m embarking on an open ended simple photo project that will let me learn how it works as well as hopefully rekindle my photo mojo.

I have a custom setting on my camera that lets me shoot black and white direct to the RAW file. Importing these to Aperture (and Photos) would respect the black and white flag for thumbnails and for editing. RAW Power seems to recognise the flag, shows the thumbs in mono, but after a second or two renders the main large view in colour.

Is there a way to either force RAW Power to see and recognise the B&W flag for the large views as well as the thumbnails? If it can’t – currently, knowing the software is always under development, in which case consider this a feature request! – is it a matter of creating a custom preset I have to apply to every image?

Thanks

Heather

Nik Bhatt
    Keymaster

Hi Heather,

If you set up your camera to shoot black and white, you will get a black and white JPEG, but a color RAW. RAWs are always in color (not counting monochrome cameras like some Leicas). What you are seeing in Aperture, Photos, and RAW Power is the embedded JPEG, which is also rendered in black and white. Aperture will replace that embedded JPEG with a color one (depending on how you have set up the preferences). Photos will also replace the embedded with its own rendering, though it may not do it right away (What to do about embedded JPEGs is a constantly evolving / changing thing.).