Getting started in iOS (iPadOS) : confused about file locations

Home Forums RAW Power Help Forum Getting started in iOS (iPadOS) : confused about file locations

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    TN Args
    Participant

Hi

I am a keen amateur photographer. I am trying to make a fresh start and handle all my photos on iPad. But the learning process is getting me confused.

What I want to do is load my photos directly into a folder of my choice on iPad with Files App, so I made a folder MyPhotos/2020/09, and obviously future monthly folders will be made. With a card reader I copied my SD camera card photos to that folder.

Now I want to access them in that folder with Photos App (which will be my photo manager) and edit them from there with RawPower, and hopefully my RP edits will be visible in Photos. I also have Affinity Photo and plan to use it for occasional layer-type editing, and save those edits into the above folders. (And as the iPad fills up I want to move entire folders to external drive and see them there with Photos App and the other apps.)

Well, that’s the dream, but maybe I need a rude awakening?

Because all Photos wants to do is import the photos straight from the camera card and save them goodness-knows-where — I can’t find them with Files App? Anyone know how to locate them with Files? And when I use RawPower to open photos from Photos, it works OK, but then I see there is a folder created called RawPower/Originals, which looks to have copies of my photos.

So it already looks like I have 3 copies of my photos: the ones I copied manually from camera card to a monthly folder I created, plus the unfindable folder where Photos App is keeping the files it works with, plus one made by RawPower with a copy of ‘Originals’.